Latest Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

LATEST FILM REVIEWS ADDED

Rating Movie Review Critic
3.5/5 Downsizing

" A smart, thought-provoking miniature piece. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 9:01 PM PST

James Mottram
South China Morning Post

3.5/5 Youth (Fang Hua)

" Youth's conflicted narrative conveys the loss of innocence of its young characters fascinatingly. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 9:01 PM PST

Edmund Lee
South China Morning Post

Quest

" Things happen - some severe, some less so - and life goes on. And always there is Olshefski, a one-man film crew who captures it all and distills it for our narrative pleasure. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 9:01 PM PST

Christopher Llewellyn Reed
Hammer to Nail

Big Sonia

" It is not just the fact that Sonia suffered ... Rather, it's those details plus the delightfully ordinary quality of who she is today that makes her trajectory so extraordinary. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 9:01 PM PST

Christopher Llewellyn Reed
Hammer to Nail

Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope

" Lucas' sword-and-sorcery epic, after its slow, jerky start, is almost continually funny and exciting, sometimes both at the same time. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 9:01 PM PST

Stephen Zito
The Washingtonian

3/4 Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi

" There's something to be said for watching wonders like the 150-mile-per-hour chase through giant redwoods on airsleds. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 9:01 PM PST

Pat Dowell
The Washingtonian

2.5/4 St. Elmo's Fire

" There's nothing much to dislike in this chronicle of seven Georgetown University students trying to find their way in the world after graduation, but there's nothing very exciting, either. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Pat Dowell
The Washingtonian

3.5/5 I, Tonya

" Maybe that's the fate this tragedy deserves: Tonya Harding wishes she wasn't a punchline, and yet her big-screen redemption plays like a big joke. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Simon Miraudo
Student Edge

Step

" Kudos to Lipitz and her team, and kudos, especially, to Blessin, Cori, Tayla, Gari, Paula and the rest for their incredible journey. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Christopher Llewellyn Reed
Hammer to Nail

1/4 Murder On The Orient Express

" 'Everyone is a suspect,' as the tagline reads. Too bad no one cares. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Christopher Llewellyn Reed
Film Festival Today

1.5/4 Justice League

" It's the end of the world, and we sure do know it, but in this umpteenth version of the apocalypse, I am dying from ennui. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Christopher Llewellyn Reed
Film Festival Today

1.5/4 Last Flag Flying

" Linklater's deft touch seems to have left him for this project. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Christopher Llewellyn Reed
Film Festival Today

Baltimore Rising

" Sohn proves an extremely able documentarian, inserting herself among participants on all sides of the debate, from the police to activists and beyond. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Christopher Llewellyn Reed
Hammer to Nail

Creep 2

" The characters more than hold our interest, and their ghoulish pas-de-deux makes good viewing. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Christopher Llewellyn Reed
Hammer to Nail

Lady Bird

" There is something sweet and quirky about Greta Gerwig's semi-autobiographical coming of age story, Lady Bird. It has a lovely lilt about it: an effortless flow of character-driven action that amuses and endears. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile

Pornocracy: The New Sex Multinationals (Pornocratie, les nouvelles multinationales du sexe)

" I was unfamiliar with Ovidie's other work prior to watching 'Pornocracy,' but based on her skills as a documentarian, I look forward to seeing what she does next in this new career. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Christopher Llewellyn Reed
Hammer to Nail

Phantom Thread

" I love this film. Just as a beautiful gown is created from unique design and exquisite fabric, so too is this bewitching film about secrets, obsession and elegance. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile

3/4 Jet Lag

" While the movie is unfolding, you don't mind being persuaded by its benevolence and gracefulness. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Gary Arnold
Washington Times

0/4 Eye of the Beholder

" A pointless and trifling mystery fable. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 8:01 PM PST

Gary Arnold
Washington Times

I, Tonya

" I, Tonya is a three star film buoyed by a couple of five star turns. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 7:01 PM PST

Travis Johnson
FILMINK (Australia)

2.5/5 Come Sunday

" Those fascinated by crises of faith or stories about religion will find stuff to chew on, but as a feature film it leaves something to be desired. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 7:01 PM PST

Adam Chitwood
Collider

3/5 I Think We're Alone Now

" The winning performances from Dinklage and Fanning mixed with Morano's confident handle behind the camera make for a most intriguing entry into the post-apocalyptic genre. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 7:01 PM PST

Adam Chitwood
Collider

Wildlife

" Dano aces the formal requirements that make a good film. But there's so much that is great in this debut, and not enough that feels original. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 7:01 PM PST

Nick Allen
RogerEbert.com

C Maze Runner: The Death Cure

" Drags on repetitiously, its simple narrative unable to sustain the unconscionable length. Despite lots of bombastic action scenes, individual face-offs and self-sacrificial turns,... it lumbers rather than sprints to the finish line. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 7:01 PM PST

Frank Swietek
One Guy's Opinion

2/5 The Polka King

" With a clipped and modestly entertaining 90-minute run time, The Polka King that relishes in Lewan's theatrics but rarely pauses to interrogate what's behind his facade. "

Posted Jan 23, 2018 7:01 PM PST

Radheyan Simonpillai
NOW Toronto