American Vandal: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Vandal: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 12, 2017
What starts out as a spoof of true-crime TV shows and podcasts quickly becomes a funny but also sharp and finely detailed look at high school life.
November 21, 2017
It definitely surprised me. [Full review in Spanish]
November 17, 2017
The structure is at once comedic and emotionally precise: When you're a teenager, even the most trivial stories feel like melodramatic epics that deserve to be analyzed from every angle.
November 10, 2017
In spite of its outwardly juvenile premise, American Vandal is an intense and ultimately sobering whodunnit, with new suspects and developments steadily unfolding over the course of its first season.
October 31, 2017
I didn't know until now how much I needed this genre in my life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 25, 2017
It's far more sophisticated than most of us gave it credit for at first blush.
Top Critic
October 24, 2017
I went into American Vandal's premiere expecting to laugh; I didn't, much. But by the time I got to the sneaks-up-on-you-poignant closing scene of its finale, I was moved.
October 23, 2017
Somehow American Vandal ... story and a project that begins with an idiotic jape into an examination of the power that camera and genre have to manipulate both director and subject.
October 17, 2017
It all feels surprisingly, tangibly real and helps extend what is essentially a playground dick joke into a JFK-style, hall-of-mirrors investigative four-hour epic.
October 11, 2017
American Vandal has a wildly variable tone that feels truer to the drastic, giddy emotional swings of teenhood, and especially by the end of the series, it rubs dizzy absurdity right up against intense, long-simmering pain.
October 6, 2017
[American Vandal] captures a genuine high school experience in an inventive way that's familiar but fresh, hilarious and so compelling.
October 2, 2017
American Vandal is a starkly effective takeoff of the increasingly blurry line between filmmaker and investigator, chronicler and active participant.
September 25, 2017
The funniest parts of the show occur in the subtle jokes that are easy to miss, but expertly delivered by a handful of very young actors you've never heard of, but are about to see everywhere.
September 25, 2017
... as an examination of today's teen culture, it's surprisingly perceptive.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
September 22, 2017
Its most surprising strength is not its satire-which is, in the end, rather low-hanging fruit-but its steady construction of a narrative backdrop more compelling than its creators realize.
September 21, 2017
It's like American Vandal's creators wanted to prove that Serial's success wasn't due to its content, but rather our current obsession with the nature of truth and justice.
September 21, 2017
Crude as it all is, my bet is that you'll fall for American Vandal, thanks to its deep love for its source material.
September 20, 2017
... a refreshing take on true crime.
September 20, 2017
There is a lot of dumb humour in the series but it is far from brainless. It mocks in order to highlight how viewers are manipulated by seemingly benign techniques.
September 19, 2017
... Netflix's American Vandal offers up a pitch-perfect parody of that tried-and-true formula, while also delivering a surprisingly fascinating mystery that -- like any good true crime story -- can sink its hooks into you and become totally addictive.
Page 1 of 2