American Vandal: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Vandal: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 11, 2017
American Vandal has a wildly variable tone that feels truer to the drastic, giddy emotional swings of teenhood, and especially by the end of the series, it rubs dizzy absurdity right up against intense, long-simmering pain.
October 6, 2017
[American Vandal] captures a genuine high school experience in an inventive way that's familiar but fresh, hilarious and so compelling.
October 2, 2017
American Vandal is a starkly effective takeoff of the increasingly blurry line between filmmaker and investigator, chronicler and active participant.
September 25, 2017
The funniest parts of the show occur in the subtle jokes that are easy to miss, but expertly delivered by a handful of very young actors you've never heard of, but are about to see everywhere.
September 25, 2017
... as an examination of today's teen culture, it's surprisingly perceptive.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
September 22, 2017
Its most surprising strength is not its satire-which is, in the end, rather low-hanging fruit-but its steady construction of a narrative backdrop more compelling than its creators realize.
September 21, 2017
It's like American Vandal's creators wanted to prove that Serial's success wasn't due to its content, but rather our current obsession with the nature of truth and justice.
September 21, 2017
Crude as it all is, my bet is that you'll fall for American Vandal, thanks to its deep love for its source material.
September 20, 2017
... a refreshing take on true crime.
September 20, 2017
There is a lot of dumb humour in the series but it is far from brainless. It mocks in order to highlight how viewers are manipulated by seemingly benign techniques.
September 19, 2017
... Netflix's American Vandal offers up a pitch-perfect parody of that tried-and-true formula, while also delivering a surprisingly fascinating mystery that -- like any good true crime story -- can sink its hooks into you and become totally addictive.
September 18, 2017
Perhaps the biggest key to American Vandal's success is how it takes the most juvenile of crimes and treats it with the utmost gravity.
September 18, 2017
Stick with it, though, and you'll watch as the show gradually morphs into a compelling mystery on its own terms.
September 17, 2017
American Vandal is surprisingly intense and addictive.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.1/10
September 17, 2017
Even as American Vandal is building its fictional case, it's simultaneously satirizing some far deeper ideas -- like why we're so interested in true crime and so insistent that it come to a pat "solution" when that's not how real life works.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 15, 2017
After the first two or three episodes, I wouldn't say I cared about the characters in this pretend documentary. But so help me, I actually felt invested in knowing, beyond a reasonable doubt, who did the dicks.
September 14, 2017
Few shows I've seen catch high school society, with its self-contained seriousness, as well as American Vandal does, as well as the mix of innocence and experience, confusion and certitude that mark that age.
September 14, 2017
Don't expect a lot of out-loud laughs with the series, but it is constantly amusing. You may never look at a true crime documentary the same way again.
September 14, 2017
If you're a true fan of the genre being sent up, a lot of this will be pure delight; if you're not, it's likely to seem broad and more than a little pointless. But you can't fault the execution.
September 14, 2017
As silly as the story can be, it's the grounded reality of the show's world that makes it funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2