American Vandal: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Vandal: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 15, 2017
Even in its first half-hour "American Vandal" begins to drag. A cliffhanger ending pushed me on to episode two, which also failed to move the plot along.
September 25, 2017
The funniest parts of the show occur in the subtle jokes that are easy to miss, but expertly delivered by a handful of very young actors you've never heard of, but are about to see everywhere.
October 6, 2017
[American Vandal] captures a genuine high school experience in an inventive way that's familiar but fresh, hilarious and so compelling.
September 21, 2017
It's like American Vandal's creators wanted to prove that Serial's success wasn't due to its content, but rather our current obsession with the nature of truth and justice.
November 17, 2017
The structure is at once comedic and emotionally precise: When you're a teenager, even the most trivial stories feel like melodramatic epics that deserve to be analyzed from every angle.
October 31, 2017
I didn't know until now how much I needed this genre in my life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 10, 2017
In spite of its outwardly juvenile premise, American Vandal is an intense and ultimately sobering whodunnit, with new suspects and developments steadily unfolding over the course of its first season.
September 19, 2017
... Netflix's American Vandal offers up a pitch-perfect parody of that tried-and-true formula, while also delivering a surprisingly fascinating mystery that -- like any good true crime story -- can sink its hooks into you and become totally addictive.
October 11, 2017
American Vandal has a wildly variable tone that feels truer to the drastic, giddy emotional swings of teenhood, and especially by the end of the series, it rubs dizzy absurdity right up against intense, long-simmering pain.
September 25, 2017
... as an examination of today's teen culture, it's surprisingly perceptive.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
November 21, 2017
It definitely surprised me. [Full review in Spanish]
October 25, 2017
It's far more sophisticated than most of us gave it credit for at first blush.
September 1, 2017
American Vandal frolics through the Docuseries Uncanny Valley and comes out the other side with a loving appreciation of everything that makes these stories so captivating and culturally iconic.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 2, 2017
American Vandal is a starkly effective takeoff of the increasingly blurry line between filmmaker and investigator, chronicler and active participant.
September 18, 2017
Stick with it, though, and you'll watch as the show gradually morphs into a compelling mystery on its own terms.
September 20, 2017
... a refreshing take on true crime.
September 18, 2017
Perhaps the biggest key to American Vandal's success is how it takes the most juvenile of crimes and treats it with the utmost gravity.
September 17, 2017
Even as American Vandal is building its fictional case, it's simultaneously satirizing some far deeper ideas -- like why we're so interested in true crime and so insistent that it come to a pat "solution" when that's not how real life works.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 17, 2017
It all feels surprisingly, tangibly real and helps extend what is essentially a playground dick joke into a JFK-style, hall-of-mirrors investigative four-hour epic.
Top Critic
October 24, 2017
I went into American Vandal's premiere expecting to laugh; I didn't, much. But by the time I got to the sneaks-up-on-you-poignant closing scene of its finale, I was moved.
Page 1 of 2